InfiniteMac OSx86  


Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2009, 01:25 PM
pαuℓzurrr.'s Avatar
pαuℓzurrr. pαuℓzurrr. is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 280
New AppleVIAATA & AppleNForceATA for Snow Leopard

SuperVIAATA
Quote:
I wrote a new one for Snow Leopard, with controller name Support.
Build in Snow Leopard in x86_64 and with the newest compiler.
Supports 965 chipsets, and a lot more!!

If you're still in Leopard, because AppleVIAATA isn't for Leopard, this one works for you!
You can add your own ID's in the info.plist.

Only Supports Snow Leopard, and you can have the max RAM!!

It's called SuperVIAATA, based on AppleVIAATA
SuperNForceATA
Quote:
I wrote a new one for Snow Leopard, with controller name Support.
Build in Snow Leopard in x86_64 and with the newest compiler.
Supports NForce chipsets, and a lot more!!

If you're still in 32 bits, cauz of AppleNForceATA, this one is for you!
You can add your own ID's in the info.plist.

Only Supports Snow Leopard, and you can have the max RAM!!

It's called SuperNForceATA, based on the original AppleNForceATA
SuperNForceATA
SuperVIAATA



SuperNForceATA topic on InsanelyMac
SuperVIAATA topic on InsanelyMac

Using SuperNForceATA right now

All this greatness is made by c0rk007hck

Mac Inspiron 531 10.6.8 10.8.0 Legacy Kernel AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ (2.60GHz)
Dell M2N61-AX/nForce 430/MCP61 4GB Dual Channel DDR2 667MHz
ALC888 nVidia GeForce 8600 GT 256 MB
2 x WDC WD5000AAKS 500 GB SATA HDD

Last edited by pαuℓzurrr.; 10-04-2009 at 01:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2009, 01:29 PM
dashboard's Avatar
dashboard dashboard is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Works fine here, using SuperVIAATA.

Last edited by dashboard; 10-04-2009 at 05:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2009, 05:26 PM
c0rk007hck c0rk007hck is offline
Cheetah
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
My VIAATA

Thanks for posting it here.
I wrote it, and I hope you will enjoy it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-04-2009, 07:19 PM
eMatoS's Avatar
eMatoS eMatoS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Argentina
Posts: 185
Working great here, thank you c0rk007hck

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3000+ @2.3Ghz - Motherboard: ASUS A8N-SLI nForce4 SLI - nForceLAN by eno - SuperNForceATA by Medevil - RAM:2 GB DDR 333Mhz Audio: ALC850 Video: XFX nVidia GeForce 8400GS 256Mb (0x06e4) QE & CI from Chameleon 2 RC4Ethernet: Realtek RTL 8139 Series (working out of the box) OS: Snow Leopard 10.6.4 (aryajuanda's guide) + Windows XP 64bits
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-2009, 08:24 AM
thorazine74 thorazine74 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 411
@c0rk007hck:

Thanks for your work!
Can you please explain what is "Controller Name Support"?

AsRock P45TS | C2D E8200 | GeForce 8600GTS
Mac OS X Snow Leopard 10.6.1 + Windows 7 Ultimate 6.1.7600 + Fedora 11
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-09-2009, 04:16 AM
eMatoS's Avatar
eMatoS eMatoS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Argentina
Posts: 185
Hey c0rk007hck I was taking a look at the logs and saw this:

Code:
08/10/09 21:20:51    kernel    SuperNForceATA: selected PIO mode 4
08/10/09 21:20:51    kernel    SuperNForceATA: selected Ultra mode 6
08/10/09 21:20:51    kernel    SuperNForceATA: 80-conductor cable not detected
08/10/09 21:20:51    kernel    SuperNForceATA: selected Ultra mode 2
Does it means that my ata disk is in udma 2? And it is an 80 conductor cable.

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3000+ @2.3Ghz - Motherboard: ASUS A8N-SLI nForce4 SLI - nForceLAN by eno - SuperNForceATA by Medevil - RAM:2 GB DDR 333Mhz Audio: ALC850 Video: XFX nVidia GeForce 8400GS 256Mb (0x06e4) QE & CI from Chameleon 2 RC4Ethernet: Realtek RTL 8139 Series (working out of the box) OS: Snow Leopard 10.6.4 (aryajuanda's guide) + Windows XP 64bits
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-09-2009, 08:48 AM
thorazine74 thorazine74 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 411
What nforce controller do you have? Some of the newer ones got troubles with cable detection not working. In Linux you can disable that with a kernel argument, but I think that cant be done in OS X.
Maybe c0rk007hck can implement a toggle in the driver to ignore a failed cable detection...

AsRock P45TS | C2D E8200 | GeForce 8600GTS
Mac OS X Snow Leopard 10.6.1 + Windows 7 Ultimate 6.1.7600 + Fedora 11
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-09-2009, 11:05 PM
eMatoS's Avatar
eMatoS eMatoS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Argentina
Posts: 185
I have an Asus A8N-SLI with an nforce4 sli controller. Hope this is just an error.

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3000+ @2.3Ghz - Motherboard: ASUS A8N-SLI nForce4 SLI - nForceLAN by eno - SuperNForceATA by Medevil - RAM:2 GB DDR 333Mhz Audio: ALC850 Video: XFX nVidia GeForce 8400GS 256Mb (0x06e4) QE & CI from Chameleon 2 RC4Ethernet: Realtek RTL 8139 Series (working out of the box) OS: Snow Leopard 10.6.4 (aryajuanda's guide) + Windows XP 64bits
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-10-2009, 10:17 AM
thorazine74 thorazine74 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 411
You can check the PIO/UDMA modes in the IORegistry, most drivers report it there. In my case with an MCP73 controller it was running in UDMA2 indeed, not a big deal with a DVD recorder (like in my case) but if you have a modern HD you will surely experience some performance hit.
I think its not an error, the driver is probably based on the linux one, and even recent linux drivers suffer from the same bug...

AsRock P45TS | C2D E8200 | GeForce 8600GTS
Mac OS X Snow Leopard 10.6.1 + Windows 7 Ultimate 6.1.7600 + Fedora 11
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-10-2009, 01:03 PM
maya77's Avatar
maya77 maya77 is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 194
This is Leopard kext by MeDevil, patched by Andy for more RAM support.



What's exactly changed here?



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.


Last edited by maya77; 10-10-2009 at 01:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes