InfiniteMac OSx86  

🌅 Dive into Web3 and Crypto, join FTX! 🚀

Reply
 
Thread tools Display modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2008, 06:51 PM
zephyroth's Avatar
zephyroth zephyroth is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North of France
Posts: 518
AMD Patcher 0.31 available to download

Interface

- The dropped items are listed in a table which shows their properties
(Status, Name, Size, Type)
- Options pane added.
- Menus added (Donation to InfiniteMac, Donation to ... me, and Beta Tester Feedback)

Behaviour

- More kind of files supported (component, loginPlugin, prefPane, spreporter, framework, unix executable), I will add kexts and bundles later.
- You can add files to patch even if the patching process is running (needs to be optimized)
- Detect loaded kexts and inject them in the package if necessary
- If GeForce.kext and NVDAResman are in the list of loaded kexts and are presents in the package they will be patched

Options

- You can choose to check for software update at launch
- You can change the folder for modified items

Please give feedback using the menu item of AMD Patcher instead of doing this here. It will be more easy.

PS; Packages like NVInstaller aren't supported yet.

Attached Files
File Type: zip AMD-Patcher-0.31.zip (1.36 MB, 1927 views)

Last edited by zephyroth; 12-01-2008 at 06:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-21-2008, 08:00 PM
maya77's Avatar
maya77 maya77 is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 194
Looks great, but I get this error on startup:



Then it wont accept any file I drag&drop to the program interface.

I'm using Leopard 10.5.5.

Last edited by maya77; 11-21-2008 at 08:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2008, 09:07 PM
ritalin's Avatar
ritalin ritalin is offline
OSx86 Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12

I've tried to download but all I see is this.

Also, I posted the following over at IM but you seem like the person in the know.
Quote:
I'm looking for a better (faster) way of removing CPUID checks from OSX binaries. I'm currently using a shellscript with otool and the Maxxuss patcher to do the job. There is a snip from the script I currently use below. It works okay but as you can see it involves creating a temporary configuration using otool and then writing it onto the hard drive for the Maxxuss patcher to use. Ideally I would like to create a simple command line tool to replace otool and the patcher in this instance. Unfortunately my programming skills aren't quite up to the job so I'm asking for help. Alternatively, sticking with the tools I do have, is there any way of speeding up the shellscript I am using. Perhaps there is some way of piping the config file straight into Maxxuss patcher without having to make the slow write to the hard drive?

I realize this would be better posted in The X Labs forum but unfortunately, for some reason, I am unable to start a new thread in there.

I am also aware of the imminent release of the Voodoo XNU with on-the-fly opcode patching for OSX which should make CPUID patching irrelevant. However I would still like to pursue this. Thanks in advance for any help offered.
Your help and advice would be appreciated.

Last edited by ritalin; 11-21-2008 at 09:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2008, 10:04 PM
maya77's Avatar
maya77 maya77 is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 194
Stupid RapidShare limits.

Here it is:
Code:
http://www.speedyshare.com/133763827.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-22-2008, 09:40 AM
Dies Dies is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by maya77 View Post
Looks great, but I get this error on startup:

Then it wont accept any file I drag&drop to the program interface.

I'm using Leopard 10.5.5.
Yup.

And if you fix that error, it goes to another and then another...

BUT, this app is really looking good and once you do get past those errors it works just fine. Also these errors seem like just an oversight that *should* be quick and easy to fix.

Only thing I really would have liked to see is an option to not inject kexts into the package.

Oh yeah, for anyone who just can't wait here's a workaround for the errors
Code:
rm -f ~/Library/Preferences/com.zephyroth.AMD-Patcher.plist
sudo -s
cd /Users/
mkdir -p zephyroth/Desktop
touch zephyroth/Desktop/log-AMD-patcher
chmod -R 755 zephyroth
cd /tmp
rm -rf ASvD67
mkdir ASvD67
chmod -R 755 ASvD67
You can just delete the zephyroth folder once your done.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-22-2008, 11:19 AM
zephyroth's Avatar
zephyroth zephyroth is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North of France
Posts: 518
I'm sorry for all these little issues ... I was too in a hurry to share my work.
They will be fix very quickly. I will put a new link this evening.

Sorry, sorry, sorry !!!

Dies, thanks for this workaround !

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-22-2008, 01:49 PM
pαuℓzurrr.'s Avatar
pαuℓzurrr. pαuℓzurrr. is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 280
I selected the download folder as destination, but now my download folder icon has been changed by the program.
Is there anyway to change this back to normal?
I tried Candybar but it didn't solve the problem...

Thnx!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-22-2008, 05:03 PM
zephyroth's Avatar
zephyroth zephyroth is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North of France
Posts: 518
Here's the new link: http://www.speedyshare.com/607925347.html

I hope everything is fine now !

Last edited by zephyroth; 11-22-2008 at 07:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-22-2008, 09:02 PM
maya77's Avatar
maya77 maya77 is offline
Panther
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 194
Zephy, it opens fine now but I get another error when drag&drop file:

Last edited by maya77; 11-22-2008 at 09:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-23-2008, 12:44 AM
Dies Dies is offline
Jaguar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by maya77 View Post
Zephy, it opens fine now but I get another error when drag&drop file:
Did you already try deleting your old preferences file?
Code:
rm -f ~/Library/Preferences/com.zephyroth.AMD-Patcher.plist
I haven't tried the new version yet, but I think that problem is just that there are different fields in the new file but if you already have an old file it of course tries to use it instead of creating a new one.

If that is the case, I'm not sure if it's even worth coding to check if it's an old style preference file or new...

Probably easier to just add a Readme telling people to delete it if they've ever used old versions of the program.



💡 Deploy cloud instances seamlessly on DigitalOcean. Free credits ($100) for InfMac readers.


Last edited by Dies; 11-23-2008 at 12:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools
Display Modes